Not only Intercultural

Hi my lovely friends,

Intercultural relationships are already more complicated if you haven’t been raised in the same country but if you have on top of intercultural also inter lingual relationship it’s twice as complicated.

And we are inter lingual on both sides. I speak Swissgerman and he speaks Hindi. Together we speak English. Neither of us speaks the other language.
It’s difficult if you are in the country of your SO. The family usually doesn’t speak English too well and that makes it hard bond with the family. You can’t go out by yourself because you can’t communicate with the people on the street.

On top of all Hindi isn’t an easy language to learn nether is German.
Friday night Prageet had his first haircut appointment, and of course I had to tag along because he can’t speak German. Same if I’d been in India, he would have had to tag along because I can’t speak Hindi.
We both have to learn each others language to eventually be able to live freely in both of the countries.

How do you and your partner do it?
I am really interested in how you see these kind off communication problems, if it’s even a problem for you?

Have a great week

Love,
Larissa


One thought on “Not only Intercultural

  1. A simple way to pick up spoken language is to watch movies in that language. Initially start with subtitles and then once you grab enough words then do away with subtitles, and then you learn it. I learnt telugu in the same way, initially only masala movies, then once I got to understand the language, I graduated to watching real classical movies in that language. Though I dont know how to read and write, I can speak and understand!!

    Like

Leave a comment